Splurge or Save?

If you are anything like me then you constantly struggle with the back and forth foundation debate…high end or drugstore? Sometimes I wish the decision was as easy as choosing to have that second cup of coffee or indulging in that second piece of chocolate cake (did I just say that). Needless to say, when it comes to foundation we look for two major things, coverage and staying power. Once we find a product that meets these requirements, we hold tight and never let go, regardless of price or the measures we take to ensure our vanity is always stocked with a back-up bottle. Although I like to indulge in expensive foundation every once in a while, it isn’t always affordable or easily accessible. I tend to spend my time roaming the aisles of Target and Super Walmart, snagging diapers and baby food for my nine month old on a weekly basis. With that being said, reaching for a drugstore product is easier and more convenient. Don’t get me wrong, I can spend a Sephora gift card faster than it took to purchase one, but unfortunately it isn’t a place I frequent (and window shopping online daily doesn’t count) unless I’m spending said gift card or holiday/birthday money. The point of my rambling is that a girl has to have options; the option to splurge or the option to save.

Here is a splurge option for those moments that your Sephora gift card is burning a whole in your pocket:

lorac

Natural Performance Foundation by Lorac
*Retails at Sephora for $36 +tax.

Here is a save for those responsible moments when diapering and feeding your child is more important than spending an arm and a leg:

cover girl

Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation by Cover Girl
*Retails at Walmart for $9.47+tax.

before

Before Foundation (yikes!)

after

After Foundation
(Left- Cover Girl and Right- Lorac)

Can you tell the difference? Both foundations deliver full coverage and long-lasting wear and when applied to your skin, they look exactly the same. The only difference, the price tag.

What beauty products do you splurge on and what products do you save on?

XOXO

Real Girl

 

2 thoughts on “Splurge or Save?

  1. Good to know. I usually only buy higher end stuff, unfortunately, because I don’t know what to buy from general stores. Clinique.com is usually where I buy. I would love to hear more about affordable products you love!

    Also, wondering if you’ve been to Ulta that just opened by dsw on eastside.

    • I used to only buy higher end beauty products, but I’m finding more and more drugstore items that I’m loving more. I will be posting more Splurge or Saves in the upcoming weeks, so be sure to check back. I have not been to the new Ulta on the eastside, but I have been to other Ultas many times. Maybe I’ll stop by the new one this weekend- have a list of things I’ve been wanting to try.

Leave a Reply

