Taming My Mane

A lot of you have messaged me and asked that I share my current haircare routine and the products I’m currently using to tame my mane. Before I start, I should mention that I have A LOT of hair, A LOT of long hair. Most would think that it’s very thick, however, my hair is very thin in texture, I just have a ton of it, which is why it appears to be so thick. The products that I am using work really well for the amount of hair I have, as well as the texture. Oh, and I also put some type of color in my hair at the salon, so it is colored treated too. The products that I’m currently using vary from drugstore to higher end salon products and range in price from $3 to $23.

gangs all here

The gangs all here.

Shampoo and Conditioner

shampoo & conditioner

Loreal EverStrong Sulfate-Free Fortify System Reconstruct Shampoo & Conditioner

Loreal’s EverStrong shampoo and conditioner are 100% Vegan and Sulfate-Free, containing natural botanicals and no harsh salts. The gentle Bio-Ceramide Complex strengthens your hair and tames frizz. It smells like rosemary and juniper, very energizing- great for those early mornings, the scent really wakes you up. Even though this product is sulfate-free, you still get a nice, rich lather.

Deep Conditioner

deep conditioner

Redken All Soft Heavy Cream

I use this deep conditioner two to three times per week to revive my dry hair. I usually massage this product into my hair, really focusing on the mid-shaft and ends. I let the conditioner sit in my hair for about five minutes, sometimes longer, depending on what styling tools I’ve used on it in between washes.

Prep

Prep Tonic

BB Tonic Lotion by Bumble and Bumble

Prep Leave in

it’s a 10 miracle leave in product

Smooth

Loreal EverStyle Alcohol Free Smooth & Shine Creme (Left) and Redken Smooth Down Heat Glide (Right)

Volume

Catwalk Your Highness Root Boost Spray by Tigi

Once I get out of the shower, I towel dry my hair, getting any excess moisture out and then prep my hair for styling. I spray the BB Tonic Lotion on my roots and massage into my scalp. This product contains tea tree oil, so it feels nice and tingly on my scalp and very soothing. My scalp tends to get dry in the winter, so this product is a MUST for me during the winter months. Next I spray the It’s a 10 Miracle Leave in Product to my hair’s mid-shaft and ends. I love leave in conditioners, especially leave-ins that do ten things at once. This product repairs, adds shine, detangles, controls frizz, seals & protects hair color, prevents split ends, stops breakage, provides silkiness, enhances natural body and is also a flat iron spray and thermal protectant. Once I’ve evenly sprayed the leave-in conditioner, I take my wide-toothed comb and gently comb my hair from roots to ends. Once my hair is tangle free, I like to add something to help smooth my mane. If I’m letting my hair air dry, I use Loreal’s EverStyle Alcohol Free Smooth & Shine Creme, but if I’m blow drying my hair (flat ironing or curling), I like to use Redken’s Smooth Down Heat Glide. Both products provide long-lasting smoothness and tame frizz, however, the heat glide protects my hair from the heat of my styling tools. You only need a small amount of each product, as a little goes a long way. If I’m looking to pump up the volume, I’ll use Catwalk Your Highness Root Boost Spray by Tigi  to deliver long-lasting volume. Simply spray this foaming products to your roots and blow dry. This product really puts life back into flat, boring hair.

Finishing Touches

volume powder

got 2b POWDER’ful Volumizing Styling Powder

shine

Redken Shine Flash 02 Glistening Mist (Left) and Bumble and Bumble Semisumo (Right)

hairspray

Big Sexy Hair Spray & Play Volumizing Hairspray

Once I’ve dried my hair and styled with a hot tool, I like to sprinkle got 2b’s POWDER’ful Volumizing Styling Powder into my roots, using my fingers to work the product in. This product is amazing for adding a little va-va-voom to your do. I then spray my hair with Redken’s Glistening Mist to give my hair some shine. If I’ve curled my hair, I’ll use my Semisudo pomade on the ends to separate my curls. I usually rub a very small amount between my palms and fingers and then rub my finger through the ends. If I have any remaining pomade, I scrunch the ends for added hold and shine. I set any hairstyle with big sexy hair’s Volumizing Hairspray- this product has great hold and doesn’t weigh my already heavy hair down.

I know it seems like I use a lot of different products on my hair, but I don’t always use every single product, every single day. Some days I don’t use any product and some days I use them all. It just depends on what hairstyle I’m wanting to achieve and where I’m going or what I’m doing.

What haircare products are you currently using?

Also, be sure to check out my blog on Monday, as I’ll be having my very first giveaway- yippee!!! Super cute spring goodies for one of my lucky followers- cha ching.

XOXO

Real Girl

2 thoughts on “Taming My Mane

  1. Sarah! I bought the Big Sexy Hair hairspray because of this blog entry and was very happy with the results!! The hairspray I was using (Aussie) would only hold my curl for a short amount of time. I also wanted to buy the got 2b styling powder but couldn’t find it at Target. Do you get it at a salon?

Leave a Reply

