My Skincare Routine

I can FINALLY say that after months and months of searching, I have found my skincare routine- hallelujah! About six months ago I noticed a drastic change in my skin, almost overnight. I went to bed with normal, sometimes dry skin and I woke up with oily, acne prone skin- talk about doing a 180. I never struggled with pimples, blackheads or breakouts. In fact, I can count on one hand the number of times I had a pimple in high school, so you can imagine the panic I felt when those bad boys started popping up all over my face. Having a background in skincare, I knew what I needed to do to get my skin in check,  however, I wasn’t sure what line of products I wanted to use. I did some research, read A LOT of reviews and after many trials and many errors, I finally found a routine that works for me and my skin type. Everyone’s skin is different, so what works for me, may not work for you. However, if you have oily, acne prone skin, I highly recommend looking into the products I use. They have certainly changed my skin for the better.

#1

My favorite skincare products.

 

Daytime Skincare Routine:

2

Philosophy Purity Facial Cleanser & Clarisonic Mia 2

3

Michael Todd True Organics Moisture Lite

I wash my face each morning with my Clarisonic Mia 2 and Philosophy’s Purity Facial Cleanser. Since this cleanser is a 3-in-1 cleanser, I don’t need to follow this step by using a toner. Once I wash my face, I moisturize with Michael Todd’s Moisture Lite. This moisturizer is a non-oily hydrating lotion that won’t clog your pores. Perfect for everyday use and wears nicely under foundation.

Nighttime Skincare Routine

4

My Nighttime Skincare Products

 

5

Step One

First, I remove my eye makeup with Loreal Clean Artisite Waterproof & Long Wearing Eye Makeup Remover. I have tried TONS of eye makeup removers and I keep coming back to this one. It doesn’t leave my eyelids greasy or irritate my eyes. It removes eyeliner and waterproof mascara with ease. Once I have removed my eye makeup, I take an Equate Original Clean Facial Cleansing Towelette and remove the rest of my makeup. These are my holy grail makeup remover wipes- they are affordable and they get the job done. The towelettes are very sturdy and have just the right amount of moisture to swipe away the day’s makeup with ease.

6

Step Two

Next I take my Clarisonic Mia 2 and about a quarter size of the Michael Todd True Organics Charcoal Detox Cleanser and wash my face. This cleanser really penetrates my pores and draws out impurities. Next I use about a nickel size of the Michael Todd True Organics Jojoba Charcoal Scrub all over my face, however, I pay extra attention to the areas on my face that are prone to breakouts. Although this scrub is a gentle exfoliator, I only use this product two to three times per week depending on how my skin is behaving.

5A

Step Three

 

 

After I cleanse my skin, I take about two pumps of the Michael Todd True Organics Kaolin Clay Mask and apply it liberally all over my face. I tend to focus this step more in the t-zone and avoid areas that are more sensitive (eyes, under the eyes, around my nose). Since this mask is used as a detoxifying treatment, I only use it one to two times per week. After I rinse off the mask, I apply the Michael Todd True Organics Lemon Toner onto a cotton round and apply to my face. This toner is amazing- not only does it smell refreshing, it is antibacterial, so I know it’s doing my skin justice. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE.

7

Step Four

After I let the toner absorb into my skin, I apply Josie Maran Argan Oil to the area around my nose, down around my mouth and onto my chin. When the weather gets colder and their is less moisture in the air, this area of my face tends to get more sensitive and dry, so this added step at night does wonders at keeping this area hydrated and moisturized. Next I apply about a dime size of Michael Todd True Organics Antioxidant Carrot Multivitamin Serum all over my face and neck. After I apply this serum, I apply the Michael Todd True Organics Moisture Lite all over my face, eyes and neck. This is my final step in my nighttime skincare routine and helps add moisture back into my skin.

I have been using this products for almost three months now and I’ve really noticed a difference in how my skin looks and feels. This routine helps keep my breakouts minimal, helps control the oil in my skin and also helps keep my skin looking bright. I’ve also noticed a huge change in my skin’s texture- a lot less under-the-surface-bumps. I highly recommend finding a routine that works for you and sticking with it.

What are some of your holy grail skincare products?

XOXO,

Sarah

 

One thought on “My Skincare Routine

  1. I enjoyed reading your routine. How funny to see you use a few Michael Todd products as I just purchased a serum from his line today (thanks to a LivingSocial deal with a $10 off $25 coupon). I’m excited to get it and try it out.

Leave a Reply

